Monday, March 2, 2020

T Stands For DiaTribe


If your Second on the 2nd (see previous post) and your T Tuesday post are the same, please add/link it both places.

A couple of weeks ago, my foodie friend Sally and I went to DeFazio's.  This is not the first time we've been here, and of all the places we could have eaten, we chose this place because we love their food.

Ever since I explained T Tuesday to Sally, she reminded me to take a photo of our waters soon after the waitress had taken our order.

While we waited, I took a photo of their dessert case from where I sat.  Sally had the good seat because she could look at other customers in the restaurant.  I, on the other hand, got to drool over the cheesecake and cream puffs.

We had the sweetest waitress and I felt sorry for her.  I had asked for ranch dressing on the side of my Italian salad.  I simply can't eat that horrible oil and vinegar they drench all over really delicious fresh greens.  The chef (or possibly sous chef) is in charge of creating each salad and he/she messed mine up, even though I had seen the waitress write my order on the ticket.  Consequently, I had to wait for mine.  Those who know me, know I eat slower than everybody, so I knew I'd be taking some salad home with me.

As usual, Sally ordered spaghetti and meatballs from the dinner menu and I ordered shrimp scampi and fettuccini from the lunch menu.  I had barely gotten my new salad when the main order came.

Sally's meatballs and sauce were steaming hot, but her spaghetti was luke warm and mushy.  I tasted her spaghetti and it certainly wasn't al dente.  You can see the butter sauce is starting to congeal in my scampi.  I knew something was wrong, because I'm always told, no matter where I eat, the metal or porcelain dish in which the scampi comes, is hot and not to touch it.  That day I forgot, and picked up the scampi to rearrange it after I'd photographed it.  It was barely warm.  My fettuccini was barely warm, too.  It wasn't the waitress's fault because she said she debated bringing our main courses out right after I'd received my new salad, but decided it was best to get the food to us while it was still hot.  I told her the best part of my meal was her upbeat attitude and great service.

When we told our waitress how sub-standard the food was this time, she came back a few minutes later and said we could have our choice of a free chocolate or vanilla cream puff.  I chose chocolate, while Sally chose vanilla.  Since going to DeFazio's was my idea, I paid for both lunches.

However, when I paid, I hadn't given the cashier enough money.  Our bill should have been around $24.00, but the bill was for over $27.00 (USD).  When I asked to see the ticket, the cashier said we only got ONE free cream puff.

That's when I lost it.  I had endured a cold meal and a salad that had to be remade.  Now I was going to have to pay for something I didn't order in the first place?  I told the cashier she could have one of the cream puffs back, since we didn't order them in the first place, but were told they were free because of the sub-standard meals.  After I told her to take my cream puff back, since I hadn't ordered it, I went on to tell her we had both had crappy meals and now one of us was going to be rewarded with a freebie and one of us was going to go home with nothing but a bad taste in our mouth.  At this point, I got rather loud, too, although Sally said she didn't hear any of it when I got back to the table.  That's when the waitress came up and said she would pay for the extra cream puff.  I retorted with it wasn't fair to her, because she was the ONLY positive part of the meal.  I tried to insist I would bring the (to go) cream puff back, but the waitress insisted.  I was so mad at that cashier, I almost vowed to never return.  However, with the great business they do, my not returning would not have meant a thing to their business or the cashier.

You've read my diatribe, now it's your turn.  By now you probably know the "rules," but in case you don't, please show something drink related. It can be photos, a place you visited, movies, tea cups, coffee mugs, a tea or coffee service, postcards, books, magazines, sketches, mixed media, drawings, paintings, tags, ATCs, scrapbooking, or other art that is digital, hybrid, or traditional, as long as it in some way relates back to a drink, any drink.  Please share below and Bleubeard and I, along with the rest of the T gang will be by to visit.   Please link only your T post and not your blog in general.  Old photos are acceptable because they may be taken any time, not just on Tuesday, and not just this year.
 


23 thoughtful remarks:

Valerie-Jael said...

Sorry you and Sally got such substandard food during your visit there, that's not good. I'm glad you at least had a lovely waitress in contrast to the bad cook and unfriendly cashier, and I think I would have got loud too. Happy T Day, Valerie

Eileen Bergen said...

You're a slow eater too, Elizabeth? We're certainly a minority. Fortunately, I have very patient friends and also a small-ish apetite. Plus, I love leftovers. No matter what, I win.

But there was no way you could win this one. What gall to try to charge for a freebie to make up for a bad meal. I bet there is new management or new chef/kitchen management.

Happy T-day! Eileen xx

kathyinozarks said...

That is unbelievable paying for something that was suppose to be free-I would be upset with your meal too-I posted about a no so great meal too Happy T hugs

pearshapedcrafting said...

It sounds to me as though there have been some staff changes! I think you kept remarkably calm in the circumstances, but then as you said the waitress did everything she could! What shame that your day was spoilt though! Happy T Day!Chrisx

DVArtist said...

Well.... I started waiting tables and working in eateries when I was 6 yrs old. My folks owned a coffee shop. However, I was fortunate to be trained by the Harvey Girls and was a server and manager the first half of my life and have worked in greasy spoons, truck stops and very high end restaurants. Shame on that cashier, the cooks, and the manager.

My name is Erika. said...

Wow. Too bad they don't believe the old adage-the customer comes first. Sorry you had such a "bad" lunch-well really bad service. That doesn't make lunch very much fun, does it? Too bad too as you like their food. I do hope your T day is a good day though. Hugs-Erika

Linda Kunsman said...

Oh wow- I am sorry for both of you for such an unappetizing meal and with especially unhappy results:(:( I'd be with you Elizabeth 100%. And the poor waitress- it wasn't her fault...Let's just hope other people will speak up so as the message gets to the right staff- aka chefs/cooks! Hoping you have an extra special and good experience at your next outing. Happy t day!

CJ Kennedy said...

How disappointing to have a bad meal and then to be cheated out of a dessert you didn't even order. Like it would have really cut into their profit margin for two cream puffs. I know my loss of business wouldn't hurt the restaurant if it's popular, but I wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend the restaurant if anyone asked me. Hope you're having a better day today.

Iris Flavia said...

Oh, welcome, Sister!
When I have managed half my food (I take the other half home anyways, so it´s a quarter, my "half") everybody else sits in front of an empty plate and I always (!) think, "weee, did you inhalte all all of yours?"

Eating slow, I at least read, is healthy. But yikes. She wrote your order down and it was still not right?!
Och and! See. We went to El Gaucho for 10+ years and suddenly the food went horrible.
And yes, I felt sorry for the waiter, too, but after the second bad time we turned our backs. I hope you have a great next time!

I once had to wait ages for my food and was offered a sweet dessert to make up.
I don´t like sweets and I friendly said no. The look I got was priceless ;-)
Oh. Mine would´ve been on the house, you get double charged?!!!

And it depends. El Gaucho is right around the corner here. At first the waiter gave me "asking", then angry looks. It does matter when you were a guest long enough (the second "bad" time we did not have to pay for my raw steak. And yes. Raw. Like on the grill one minute...).

Good luck for your next time...

Helen said...

shame about the poor food - it does sound like there have been some changes with the running of your chosen eatery! well done for trying to complain!

froebelsternchen said...

I unfortunately always eat too quick...
sorry for this desaster you had there.
I seldom eat out... as there is nearly nothing that I want. Too much oil and all the meat and cheese ... not my world.
Happy T-Day Elizabeth!

J said...

Well done you for complaining Elizabeth, we’ve had this happen to us a few times , the first time breakfast, the toast was so hard I could have knocked nails in with it, we just paid and walked out, never been back, second time my fish was cold and raw in the middle, they re cooked it but it put me off eating it, it was such a lovely place too but now we don’t eat there, it’s changed name now too but looks very unloved, it’s a Shame as we’ve known the head waiter for years as he’s worked at quite a few places and is a lovely young man!
We do judge a lot of places by the friendliness of staff, if it’s a first visit and they aren’t friendly we never go back as so many places here treat us like old friends, we even bring them shortbread and sweets back from the UK , also the pharmacy , the garage and the Jules from the travel insurance office we use.
Hope your next excursion if much better, have a Happy T Day
Jan x

Lisca said...

well, that was a disaster and a half! I'm sorry you had to suffer such incompetence. I woud get mad too I think.
So good that the waitress was nice. A friendly face can make or break a restaurant.
Yep, I'm a slow eater too. I like to chew my food properly. I'm usually the last one to finish.
Happy T-Day,
hugs,
Lisca

Karen said...

What a bummer! I can't believe they charged you for one of the cream puffs ~ ridiculous. I'm glad your waitress was a light over a dark meal. Sending blessings on the rest of your week!

Anne (cornucopia) said...

I'm sorry to hear about your awful experience at this restaurant. I have a "ban" policy that I strictly enforce. There was a restaurant I used to go to, that had fantastic food, but every time I went, I always got the same waitress, who was slower than molasses, when there were hardly any customers there, and who would vanish for long periods of time. Despite the excellence of the food, I "banned" that restaurant, and never went back.

kathyinozarks said...

Good morning, yes I forgot about mentioning shrimp on my post-was surprised it was not there-they only had the fake crab which I think is cod or something and the other fish was pollach that was it-and I wouldn't eat the meat they had out.
I learned allot about that virus from the article-especially not washing-scrubbing my hands long enough-I will do that from now on. and I never would have thought about the gas pumps either-and I am always touching my face, so will work on that when I go food shopping.

Let's Art Journal said...

Such a shame, the shrimp and paste looked so good on the photos! The brewery on my post, do have a stout called Dark Spartan Stout and although I haven't tried it, it does sounds delicious - "Hints of chocolate and coffee and is silky smooth. Think bonfire night and treacle toffee" 😀. Wishing you a very happy T Day! Hugs, Jo x

Jasmina Dimitri said...

Amazing post, so interesting! ♡ If you want to follow each other, let me know on my blog. ♡

From The Magical Forest To The Moon | Essence Palettes | Q's by Vanity Fair | Insta

da tabbies o trout towne said...

your diatribe was well warranted. I worked in the food industry in my teens and know how important, not only good customer service was///is from the minute you enter the establishment, to the time you've paid and walk out the door, but if the food isn't up to par, there's no point in returning there again. With all the restaurants around now, competition is fierce, and only those with good food and good service are going to stand "the test of time"

Sorry you're day wasn't a good one ~~~~~~~~

Jeanie said...

That sounds like an awful dining experience and I just hate those. Good for you, standing up for what was right. It's bad when the waitress is the ONLY good thing about the time...

Eileen Bergen said...

Hi again, Elizabeth. oOu commented on my T-post "that Blue Moon came up with the idea of adding a slice of orange to the side of the glass of that beer. Apparently, it increased sales tremendously. Looks like Chris didn't get his orange slice on the side of his drink." Actually, Chris did get a slice of orange on the rim of the glass. We didn't know the story. So we just thought it was very odd. lol. Thanks for the info. Eileen xx

RO said...

My goodness, what a nightmare, and it reminds me something from a Gordon Ramsay restaurant gone wrong show where I've seen chefs do subpar cooking, and then terrorize the rest of the staff. Did they get rid of the old chef? I'm so sorry you had to go through this, and you were kind. As a previous Customer Service Director, sterling service is important, and if after talking to someone face to face, no improvement or even an apology is made, I do an online review. Hopefully your next restaurant is better, and I'm glad you were able to get an outstanding waitress out of the deal, and hopefully your next restaurant will treat you better. Hugs, RO

Sami said...

I'm sorry about your terrible experience in that restaurant Elizabeth. At least the waitress was a kind and pleasant person.